Vitamin D is a water-soluble vitamin that is essential for optimal health. It assists in absorbing calcium and maintaining the necessary level of magnesium and phosphate concentration.
Vegetarians find it difficult to fulfill nutrients in their diet. But the number of plant sources is rich in vitamin D. Vegetarians can add them to their daily diet to meet their vitamin D requirement.
The most famous vitamin D-rich source is sunshine. Whether you are a vegetarian or not, the skin will produce vitamin B after exposure to the sun’s ultraviolet B rays. Studies have shown that exposing your face, back, legs, and arms to sunlight for about 5 to 30 minutes twice a week is enough to generate optimal vitamin D levels for the body. This can vary with the geographical location.
There are some adverse effects of exposure to sunlight for a long time. It can cause sunburns, wrinkles, tanning, and skin cancers.
Tofu is one of the best sources of vitamin D for vegetarians. Tofu is a soft white paste made using soybean. It is also rich in other nutrients like zinc, calcium, cholesterol-lowering omega 3 fatty acids, and protein. You can fulfill about 30% of the daily Vitamin B requirement from Tofu. There are a variety of Toku food varieties in the market. Tofu burgers, tofu spreads, smoked tofu, and sausage patties are some of them.
Fortified cereals are rich in vitamin D. a single cup of fortified cereals fulfills up to 29% of the daily vitamin D requirement. You can check the label to know whether cereal has been fortified with vitamin D or not.
4. Dairy and Eggs
If you are not a vegan that is not a vegetarian, then you can have dairy products and eggs. A large chicken egg comes with 6.7% of the daily required vitamin D dosage. A cup of milk that comes with 1% of milk has up to 19% of the daily Vitamin D requirement. Dairy products such as cheese and yogurt also have vitamin D to a certain level.
5. Orange Juice
Orange juice is vitamin D for vegetarians. You may know that it is rich in vitamin C. But at the same time, orange juice contains vitamin D also. The canned orange juice is mixed with vitamin D nutrients.
If your Vitamin D requirement is not fulfilled by food, try a supplement. It is a reliable and consistent source that you can trust. It is better to consult a doctor before using a vitamin D supplement. There are two forms of vitamin D in supplements. Vitamin D2 is taken from mushrooms or yeast exposed to UV rays while Vitamin D3 is derived from sheep’s wool or fish oil. So it is suitable for vegans.
To Sum Up
Vitamin D is an essential nutrient for heart function, immune system, mental health, and brain development. The deficiency of vitamin D causes muscle pain, weak bones, fatigue, and slow growth in children. If you are a vegetarian, then more attention should be paved to your diet. The foods that naturally contain vitamin D will help to fulfill the daily requirement of vegetarians.